Thursday, December 23, 2010

Boudin Clam Chowder

Many New England Clam Chowder recipes contain bacon fat or other pork products. It can't be seen with the naked eye, and I don't think you can detect the pork by taste. Whenever ordering clam chowder I suggest asking the waiter/waitress to check with the chef if any pork products are used.
As of December 2008, the clam chowder sold and prepared by Boudin did not contain any pork products.

Haribo Gummy Bears

Are Haribo Gummy Bears Halal?
For the answer to this question please visit:

USDA Alcohol Retention Information

Many people wonder if alcohol completely evaporates when cooked or how much alcohol remains. According to the USDA (United States Department of Agriculture)alcohol does not completely evaporate when you cook, bake or flambe. You can visit the link below for more details on how much alcohol remains after different cooking processes (please refer to page 12 of the document)

Wrigley's Gelatin Info

Sent: Wednesday, November 17, 2010 6:35:08 PM


Thank you for contacting the Wrigley Company to inquire about the use of animal-derived ingredients in our products sold in the United States.

The majority of Wrigley products sold in the U.S. are free from ingredients of animal origin, including egg and dairy products. A list of these acceptable products is included or attached with this response.

While a small percentage of the products we sell in the U.S. may contain ingredients of animal origin, we take great strides to ensure our products are free from any animal-based ingredients in geographies with dietary restrictions preventing such ingredients. For example, all Wrigley products sold in the Middle East and Indonesia are free from animal-derived ingredients.

Our priority is, and always will be, to manufacture only the highest quality confectionery products using ingredients that meet the needs of our customers around the world. By understanding our global customers and adjusting product offerings accordingly, we are able to deliver great tasting confections to more than 180 countries.

We hope this information is helpful. If you have any additional questions or comments please feel free to contact us at 1-800-WRIGLEY Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. CST.

U.S. Wrigley Products Without Animal-Derived Ingredients

• Wrigley's Spearmint® gum
• Doublemint® gum and mints
• Big Red® gum
• Juicy Fruit® stick gum
• Winterfresh® gum
• Five® Cobalt, Rain, Flare, Lush, Solstice, Zing and React Fruit gums
• Extra® Cinnamon, Classic Bubble Gum, Peppermint, Spearmint, Winterfresh, Sweet
Watermelon, Supermint, Berry Pearadise, Fruit Sensations, Mango and Berry Smoothie
• Eclipse® gum and mints
• Hubba Bubba® chunk and tape gums
• Big League Chew® shredded gum
• Freedent® gum
• Orbit® Bubblemint, Wintermint, Lime Melon, Pina Colada, Positively Pomegranate,
Strawberry Mint, Peppermint, Spearmint, Cinnamint, Sweetmint, Citrusmint, Maui Melon
Mint, Mint Mojito, Raspberry Mint and Sangria Fresca
• Orbit® WhiteTM pellet gums
• LifeSavers® hard candies and LifeSavers® lollipops
• Altoids® Sours and Altoids® gum
• Skittles® candies

Note: Slight changes to product recipes can occur from time to time. Please feel free to contact us at 1-800-WRIGLEY any time to answer any ingredient questions that arise.


Consumer Care Representative

See's Candy Alcohol

Thank you for responding. We do not add alcohol to any of our candies. Some of our candies contain an ingredient that will have alcohol in it, such as Vanilla, however the alcohol evaporates during the cooking process. Therefore, none of our candies contain alcohol in the finished product.

Unfortunately, ingredient information is not available via our website at this time. We apologize for any disappointment. Allergen information is available on our web site:

If you have any additional questions or concerns about specific allergens or ingredients, please contact me and I will be happy to assist you.

Thank you again for your interest in See's Candies. We look forward to serving you soon.


See's Candies Customer Service

--- Original Message ---
Received: 12/20/2010 8:23:45 AM Pacific Standard Time (GMT - 8:00 )
Subject: RE: gelatin

Thanks for the info.
I have one more question, does the rum nougat contain actual rum (alcohol)? The ingredients on the box don't mention rum or alcohol.

Also, I suggest posting the ingredients on the website, so people can see if what they're ordering is suitable or not. I searched all over but I couldn't find the ingredients anywhere online.


See's Candy Gelatin


Thank you for visiting A pork based gelatin is used for our marshmallow pieces, bon bons and fudge.

The following pieces have gelatin in them:

Apricot Bon Bon
Bordeaux Pecan Fudge
Chocolate Walnut Fudge
Cocoanut Bon Bon
Maple Pecan Bon Bon
Marshmallow Christmas Tree
Marshmallow Egg
Marshmallow Heart
Marshmallow Jack O'Lantern
Orange and Chocolate Wafers
Orange Bon Bon
Rocky Road
Rocky Road Egg
Rocky Road Football
Scotch Kiss
Scotchmallow Bar
Scotchmallow Egg
Scotchmallow Heart
See’s Red Hot Swamp Goo
Tipperary Bon Bon
Vanilla Walnut Fudge

The Scotchmallow is included in our Nuts & Chews assortment.

The above list shows which pieces have gelatin in them as a direct ingredient. We use the same machinery for some of our candy pieces and most of the candy pieces are produced in the same facility. Our kitchens are kept very clean, but it is impossible to guarantee that other pieces will not contain trace amounts of gelatin. We do have a list of Kosher candies which would not contain animal products since they are produced on their own separate lines. If you would like to receive a list of these pieces, please let us know.

I hope this information is helpful. Thank you for your interest in See's Candies.


See's Candies Customer Service

--- Original Message ---
Received: 12/19/2010 8:59:46 AM Pacific Standard Time (GMT - 8:00 )
Subject: gelatin

I wanted to know what kind of gelatin is used in the nuts and chews variety box? Is it a pork derived gelatin? Also, is the gelatin only in the chocolate which contains marshmallow or is it also in any other chocolate?

Thank you,

Ghirardelli Chocolate Squares Gelatin

Sent: Tuesday, March 23, 2010 3:01:54 PM


Thank you for contacting Ghirardelli Chocolate. Gelatin is in the fillings of two of our products, the Dark Chocolate with White Mint Filling and Dark Chocolate with Raspberry Filling Squares. The source of gelatin in beef.

Thank you for contacting Ghirardelli and for buying our chocolate.

Kind regards,

From: Corpsales
Sent: Monday, March 22, 2010 11:26 AM
Subject: FW: Gelatin used in Chocolate Squares


Sent: Saturday, March 20, 2010 6:52 AM
To: Corpsales
Subject: Gelatin used in Chocolate Squares

I wanted to know what kind of gelatin is used in the chocolate squares. I can’t eat pork gelatin (or other pork products or byproducts) for religious reasons.